top of page

Translations for Handel's Ariodante

Ariodante, HWV33

Libretto: This Handel’s only opera set in the British Isles (Edinburgh). Unknown, after Antonio Salvi’s 1708 Ginerva, principessa di Scozia from Ludovico Ariosto’s Orlando Furioso (Handel’s Orlando is based on the same source.)

First performance: 8th January 1735, Covent Garden Theatre, London (his 1st new opera there) Best academic article: Opera Quarterly https://academic.oup.com/oq/article-abstract/13/2/141/1451246?redirectedFrom=PDF

Original Cast

  • Ariodante = Giovanni Carestini, called "Cusanino" (Mezzo-soprano castrato); mezzotint engraving by John Faber after George Knapton (1735, held by the Handel House Museum, London)

  • Lurcanio, brother of Ariodante = John Beard (Tenor)

  • Dalinda, friend of Ginevra = Mrs. Cecilia Young (Soprano)

  • The King of Scotland = Gustavus Waltz (Bass)

  • Ginevra, beloved of Ariodante = Anna Maria Strada del Pò (Soprano)

  • Polinesso, Duke of Albany = Maria Caterina Negri (Contralto)

  • Odoardo/Edward, courtier = Mr. Michael Stoppelaer (Tenor)

Premiere Notes:

Ariodante ran for eleven performances, and was supported by the Royal Family who attended the first performance (Queen Caroline mentioned it in her letters). Ariodante’s bleak Act II ‘Scherza infida’ and lively Act III ‘Doppo notte’ have become popular concert pieces. Handel included ballet sequences for Marie Sallé and her company, and choral numbers for John Rich’s resident chorus. The plot has no subplots, with accessible, melodic music balanced between all four voice parts.

EXCERPTS from the Beginning of Act III The Forest

Gods! You let me live to make me die a thousand deaths. Is this merciful?

Recitativo - I am betrayed! Ah, untrustworthy Duke! - Back, traitors.

- Oh, God! Ariodante? - Isn’t this Dalinda? - It is! Prince, do you live? Truly?

- I live, Dalinda, for unfaithful Ginevra. - You believe Ginevra offended your honor?

- I believe my own eyes. - You are deceived by the Duke of Albany who threatens my life and your kingdom.

- How? So she... my love, on my honor, I thought I saw... it wasn’t Ginevra?

- Oh, no! It was me. - What misery!

- Listen, Sir, on my soul... - Follow me, and tell me on the way.

Night of blindness and deception, Tricked by costume and delusion, All the good, you did betray.

Foul suspicion, my eyes deceiving me, false and vile traitor, you have stolen my joy!

Night of blindness and deception, Tricked by costume and delusion, All the good, you did betray.

Ungrateful Polinesso! Did I sin, rewarding love with death? Yes, I loved you in error.

What did I do wrong? Fulminate, heavens, on the head of the guilty one!

You wreaked havoc, cruelly betraying me, unpunished,

The impious will laugh when you are struck by lightning some day.

Lighting, heavens, I call you down upon the head of the wicked!

The Royal Gardens Sire, don’t deny the supplications of your daughter: one kiss before you die.

No more. Until I see the prince appear, you have no hope of seeing me again.

My King, prepare the battlefield, I am the defender of Ginevra.

Duty, justice, love ignite in my heart a desire for glory.

The stars blush at such beauty, and we claim victory.

Duty, justice, love ignite in my heart a desire for glory.

- Come to me, daughter. My emotions and kingly indignation have guided me too long. Return to your loving father. - Sweet father, I kneel before you not in forgiveness, but...

- (Alas!) Daughter, what do you ask? - I ask not to die with your hatred, because I’m innocent. If you grant me the gift of kissing the dear hand that signed my death warrant... I’ll be happy... - You may. (Oh, my daughter!)

- I kiss your august hand, so sweet to me, though severe! You are dear to me, although unjust; I’m still proud you are my father. I kiss your august hand, so sweet to me, though severe!

- Daughter, from doubtful fate, you hang between life and death. If innocent, I await your champion.

- Who? - Duke Polinesso. - I renounce his defense! - But I seek it, to support you, your honor, my honor, and the honor of the throne. I press you to my bosom. I must depart. Strengthen my failing heart, farewell! Your aid, oh God, I implore. I may see you no more, heart of my heart.

- Does my father abandon me? - Stay strong! The least of my worries is death.

EXCERPTS from the End of Act III His triumph will start with virtue in each heart, sweet innocence making them whole.

He seeks out love divine, disdaining Fate’s design, brings joy and comfort to the soul.

Handel revived Ariodante once, May 1736 (2 performances) as a filler before the premiere of Atalanta, which wasn’t ready. Handel’s new star castrato, the 22-year-old Gioacchino Conti, arrived late and was the only singer Handel ever allowed to import another composer’s arias into his own opera. A word-book published for the revival has the Italian text of these interpolated arias (held by Handel House Museum).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page